KENYA – Top County Health Department officials have pledged to support the newly formed County Health Services Administrative Fund Board in its efforts to streamline revenue collection and reinvest it in the health sector.

Capt. (Rtd) Augustine Lokwang’, the Health Chief Officer, assured the board that they would have unlimited access to all existing financial records of all facilities under their jurisdiction.

Lokwang’ stated during the induction of fund board members in Lodwar Town that the operationalization of the board would diversify health financing streams and reduce reliance on the equalization fund.

Lokwang’ praised the board’s composition, describing it as “appropriately inclusive of both youth and experienced members in dealing with issues of health governance.”

Lokwang’ congratulated the board members on their appointment and urged them to embrace unity of purpose as a sure way of achieving the goal of serving Turkana’s people.

He was accompanied by the County Solicitor-General, Ruth Emanikor, and the Directors in Charge of Medical Services, Dr Gilchrist Lokoel, Director Policy, Planning, and M&E, Sarah Lokaala, and Director LCRH, Dr Yvonne Musa, as well as the Deputy Director County Treasury, Emmanuel Lochor.

Lokoel stated that the board’s operations were governed by an Act of the Assembly, which he urged members to become acquainted with.

Noting that the appointment of two chief officers in charge of health and finance, as well as the appointment of the CEO of Lodwar County Referral Hospital as board secretary, would promote compliance with Public Finance Management and a slew of laws, as well as global best practices in health system governance.

Emanikor reiterated the legal implications of additional laws that must be implemented in order for the Act giving effect to the board to function.

The team also visited Lodwar County Referral Hospital, Kanamkemer Sub County Hospital, and Nabulon Health Centre as part of the induction program.

Chris Eweillar, the Chair of the Board, was formally appointed by the County Assembly late last year after a rigorous vetting process, along with Daniel Eripon, Sarah Kaatho, Ruth Kuya as members and Grace Asibitar as the Fund Administrator.

Liked this article? Sign up to receive our regular email newsletters, focused on Africa and World’s healthcare industry, directly into your inbox. SUBSCRIBE HERE